Knowledge Claims Exercise

26 Oct

Look at the following knowledge claims:

“Everyone who went on the school SCUBA Trip last year had a fantastic time.”

Now look at the following ways of justifying this claim.  Which are most/least valid?  Explain why!

  • It said so in the Yearbook.
  • The person who ran the trip told me.
  • I spoke to a student who was on the trip and she told me.
  • It must have been good because more people want to go this year.

“Morning Break starts at 9.45”

Now look at the following ways of justifying this claim.  Which are most/least valid?  Explain why!

  • It says so in the diary.
  • My Tutor told me.
  • The chimes for short break always goes at 9.45.
  • Periods 1 and 2 begin at 8.30 and last for 75 minutes, so this break must begin at 9.45

“Senior School students are allowed to dye their hair.”

Now look at the following ways of justifying this claim.  Which are most/least valid?  Explain why!

  • The Head of the Senior School told me.
  • It says so in the Senior School Dress Code.
  • There are lots of students in the Senior School with dyed hair, so you must be allowed to.
  • I dyed my hair and I didn’t get into trouble.

“IB Diploma students study 6 subjects as well as completing CAS, ToK and the Extended Essay.”

Now look at the following ways of justifying this claim.  Which are most/least valid?  Explain why!

  • It says so in the Senior School Curriculum brochure.
  • That’s what my sister did when she was in the Senior School.
  • My timetable and plan of the year have all these things listed on them.
  • The IB website tells me that these are the requirements needed to pass the IB Diploma.

Back to main TOK page

Leave a comment